what are you majoring in?

posted by eunac

When I first started college, I decided that I was going to be a Biology major. This was a shocker to my family (and myself, actually) because I always said that I would never in a million years go into the sciences or anything related to math. Thinking back, I’m sure I decided to major in Biology because I wanted to do something that would make my parents proud. I wanted my parents to be able to impress their friends by telling them that I was studying to become a doctor – it sounded so perfect. The problem, of course, was that I was utterly miserable. I thought about my future in the sciences and I was lost. I couldn’t think of a single career in the sciences that was worth going through all those years of unhappiness.

After contemplating it thoroughly, I came to the conclusion that I couldn’t do this to myself and switched majors to a subject I’ve always loved: English. I was afraid that my parents would disapprove and tell me that an English major would be useless, but that’s the funny thing about parents – they always know how to catch you off guard. My parents were surprisingly supportive and told me that if I did what I loved, I’d be successful. They even told me that they were glad I wasn’t trying to become a doctor because they didn’t want me to live a stressed out life dealing with patients and all that doctor stuff.

Whenever I tell my friends or people I meet that I was a Biology major and switched to English, they all give me the same poorly concealed baffled look and ask, “Oh… So what do you plan to do with that major? Are you going to teach?” As for now, I’m not totally sure what I want to do with my major (just a few ideas) but I’m not worried. I have plenty of time to decide what exactly I’m going to do, but I know one thing for certain: I’m going to be rich and rub it in all their faces.

What? You thought I was going to end this post with something cheesy about me being happy? Puh-leeze ;)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

