do azns like to date their own kind?

posted by missmsian

The other day, a boy told me, “wa suka le.” “Suka” is Malay for “like.” “Wa” and “le” mean “I” and “you” in Hokkien, a Chinese dialect. I’m Malaysian-Chinese.

I think I fell in love.

I grew up convinced I could only find true love with a non-Azn. How’s that for internalized racism?

In the past two years, I’ve started seeing Azn guys in a new light.  A really hot one. My mum says it’s because I’m getting to an age where I’m thinking of long-term commitment (okaaaay, I’m not that old) and, at the end of the day, people like to settle down with their “own kind”.

Hmmm … really? (Opens can of worms) Thoughts on this?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “do azns like to date their own kind?

  1. kltw

    I’ve never dated an Asian girl before…and I think it’s because I grew up around white people (ie went to white schools). Also I’ve never met someone who I was politically comfortable with. That is until I started working with all the rad Chinese people in SF!

  2. Aliya

    I think there is something attractive about a cultural connection to someone (for example, through language). I feel similar pulls to my significant other who is of a different race/religion/country; but because we grew up in similar cultures, we have our own way of relating/speaking/understanding each other. I can’t say it’s the same for everyone, but I can relate to the feeling of being drawn to the “inside” feeling of cultural/linguistic similarities. :)

Leave a Reply

